I am a feminist writer

Feminism and feminist are loaded terms and have many disparate meanings and associations. So here is a brief definition of what I mean when I say feminist:

  • Everyone should be treated equally regardless of their race, gender, class, sexual orientation, religion, ethnicity, etc. (I know I forgot a few, identities, sorry.)
  • When I say equal, I don’t mean that everyone should be treated the same because people are different. And it is awesome that we are all not the same. Sameness is boring.
  • What I do mean when I say equal is that everyone should have equal access to the same opportunities. For example: access to education, healthcare, healthy food, and safe places.
  • P.S. I don’t hate men. And will laugh if you use the phrase feminazi seriously in a sentence and promptly stop listening to anything you have to say.

So why is this important or even worthwhile to discuss? Well, I am a feminist and I see the world through that perspective. It affects my writing – partially because it brings into focus topics that I am interested in exploring and addressing – both here on this blog as well as in my novels and short fiction.

©K. Klein 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under feminism

Leave a Reply

